Fruit & Vegetable Magazine

Features Associations Business
CHC announces new president, board of directors

April 3, 2017  By Canadian Horticulture Council

Back Row: (left to right) Andrew Lovell, NB; Fred Steele, BC; Robert Purton, SK; Brian Gilroy, ON; Jocelyn St-Denis, QC; Adrian Huisman, ON. Front Row: (left to right) Bar Hayre, BC; Beth Connery, MB; Rebecca Lee, CHC Executive Director, ON; Alvin Keenan, President, PEI; Keith Kuhl, MB; Stephanie Levasseur, QC; Peter Swetnam, NS. Jody Mott

April 3, 2017, Ottawa, Ont – The Canadian Horticultural Council (CHC) recently presented its new president and board of Directors for 2017-2018.

CHC’s board of directors appointed Alvin Keenan, of Prince Edward Island, as president for the 2017-2018 term. Keenan started working with CHC in 1983. Since that time, he has advocated on a wide range of issues, including trade and marketing, labour, and crop protection. He currently operates Rollo Bay Potatoes with his brother, Ray, and their families. They are dedicated to quality, care for the environment, and incorporating the newest and most innovative technology into their operations. Alvin inherits the presidency from Keith Kuhl, who held the position from 2013-2017.

Several new members were appointed to CHC’s board of directors for the 2017-2018 term. The full listing of board members for 2017-2018 is as follows:


President – Alvin Keenan

Past President – Keith Kuhl

British Columbia

  • Bar Hayre (second vice-president)
  • Fred Steele


  • Beth Connery
  • Robert Purton


  • Brian Gilroy (first vice-president)
  • Adrian Huisman


  • Stéphanie Levasseur
  • Jocelyn St-Denis


  • Peter Swetnam
  • Andrew Lovell

The CHC and its members is looking forward to continued success working with Alvin Keenan and its new board of directors.

Print this page


Stories continue below