Fruit & Vegetable Magazine

Features Fruit Production
New OFVGA chair

January 22, 2010  By Fruit & Vegetable

Jan. 22, 2010, Guelph, Ont. – There is a new leader in place at the Ontario Fruit
and Vegetable Growers' Association (OFVGA).


Apple grower Brian
Gilroy was elected chair of the board at the organization’s recent 151st
annual general meeting. He succeeds Brenda Lammens, who stepped down after
serving three years as OFVGA’s chair.

“This is a critical time
for horticulture as we are facing challenges on many fronts that are affecting
the viability of our farms,” says Gilroy. “As chair, I’m looking forward to
working with our government and industry partners on behalf of all Ontario
fruit and vegetable farmers.”

Gilroy is an apple
grower from the Meaford area of Grey County, where he has farmed since 1987. He
has been involved with the OFVGA since 1990, most recently serving as chair of
the Property Section and a one year term as vice chair of the organization. He
is also chair of the Ontario Apple Growers.

New directors joining
the OFVGA board include Lonnie Duwyn (asparagus), Jim Veri (greenhouse), Norm
Charbonneau (small fruit/berries) and Jason Verkaik (fresh vegetable – muck).
David Lambert will serve as the organization’s new Property Section chair.

Print this page


Stories continue below