Fruit & Vegetable Magazine

Features Associations Business
GGO re-elects Bill George as chair

April 12, 2013  By Press release

April 12, 2013, St. Catharines, Ont – Grape Growers of Ontario CEO Debbie Zimmerman is pleased to announce that Bill George has been re-elected as the board chair for 2013-2014. Bill is the longest serving member on the Grape Growers of Ontario board of directors.

George resides in the Town of Lincoln with his wife Leslieann and their two children. He farms an 80-acre wine grape operation in Beamsville where his family has been growing grapes for more than 100 years.

“I am appreciative of the trust the members have shown in re-electing the board of directors,” said George. “(This year) will be focused on developing market share and new markets. It is important for the Grape Growers of Ontario to work with our industry partners to achieve real market growth.”


Matthias Oppenlaender has been re-elected vice chair of the Grape Growers of Ontario board and a director for three years. Oppenlaender lives in Niagara on the Lake where he farms 400 acres of wine grapes.

Bill Schenck of St. Catharines and Kevin Watson of Niagara-on-the-Lake were also elected to the board of directors. Trevor Falk of Niagara-on-the-Lake, Brock Puddicombe of Winona, Jim Morrison of Jordan, Steve Pohorly of Niagara-on-the-Lake, Debra Marshall of Prince Edward County, and Bill Jansenberger of Southwestern Ontario, are all mid-way through their three-year terms as directors.

Print this page


Stories continue below